Carrot Cake كيكة الجزر

 

 

I first came across this recipe last year when I was asked to bring a cake for an event. I was craving carrot cake at the time but didn’t have an I-can-always-count-on-carrot-cake recipe. In fact, I’ve only made it once before and I’ve gotten the recipe from a random website that I could not find again. So the search begun and I came across many delicious recipes entailed with beautiful images that make jaws drop and hearts stop. For some absurd reason that I no longer remember, I left all the nice recipes aside and decided to go with a recipe from about.com. Why I chose it? I don’t know!  In fact, I  had some nerve to volunteer baking for an event then make a recipe from a random website without ever testing it. Oh, well! I don’t regret it now because it turned out to be a success. Everyone loved it and requested the recipe and it became one of my top requested recipe at gatherings. It’s the moistest cake I’ve ever had and you get a surprise with each bite. Pineapples, walnuts, coconut chips, could I ask for more?

4

 

 

The recipe is not hard and it helps to prepare all the ingredients before starting.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Place oven rack in the center.

Grease and flour two 9″ round pans or use Baker’s Joy.

Here I have two cups of shredded carrots. I usually just do it in the food processor because it’s easier and faster.

Chop a cup walnuts or pecans. I prefer walnuts, so I always add them. The original recipe called for half a cup but I like my cakes nuttier. Add a cup of shredded coconuts or coconut chips. It doesn’t matter if it’s sweetened or not. Don’t use desiccated coconut powder that’s commonly found in Middle Eastern stores because it will dissolve and would not be seen in the cake.

I want to take a minute and praise this great tool. I used to place the nuts in a zip lock baggie and crush them with the flat of my palm. Needless to say, my nuts looked irregular and were of different sizes but I wasn’t about to take the time to chop nuts. The nut chopper works great, a real time saver and yields much neater results in a fraction of the time I would’ve spent crushing or chopping. Oh, and it measures the chopped nuts too. Isn’t charming?

Drain an 8 0z can of crushed pineapples and have it ready.

Take your mixing bowl and place 2 cups flour, 2 cups of sugar, 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. Mix well with a rubber spatula. The original recipe called for ground nutmeg and I used it a couple of times but felt like it takes away from the carrot-cinnamon goodness so I let it go.

I know 2 cups of sugar may seem a bit too much, okay really too much, but the cake doesn’t turn out too sweet at all. In fact, many people comment on how the sweetness level is well balanced they never guess it contains two cups of sugar. If you want to reduce the amount of sugar, bear i mind that sugar contributes to the moist texture of the cake.

Now add three eggs and one and a half cups of oil to the dry ingredients. Mix well, then stir in the nuts, coconuts, and pineapple.

Divide the batter between the two greased pans.Bake in oven for thirty minuets or until ready.

Remove from oven and let it cool.Here is mine after a few hours. If you are in hurry, let it cool for ten minutes, cover it loosely and stick it in the fridge.I usually bake mine the night before or early in the day because it has to be completely cooled before frosting.

Now I want to talk about the frosting. I’m sorry I don’t have pictures because I was in a hurry. Most frosting recipes are about ninety percent powdered sugar to help with consistency but I don’t like how it tastes at all. It’s too sweet, leaves a flaky texture in your mouth and just not my type. I thought about it for a while and decided to try an alternative ingredient. I used about two-thirds of an eight ounce cream cheese block and about half a can of sweetened condensed milk. You may adjust the amount of milk according to the sweetness level you are seeking.I sometimes add some whipping creaming to improve the texture, about two tablespoons I would say. Now just mixing them really well with the electric mixer until it reaches a creamy frosting consistency. It may take a few minutes. It’s ready to use and it spreads well but it is not firm enough for rosettes or swirls.

Invert cakes onto wax paper or clean surface. Place one layer on cake stand and cover with frosting. Place the second layer on top. As you can see I cracked it but no worries it will be covered with frosting.

Also, I sometimes make it in a 9×13 pan or standard size muffin tins for cupcakes.

Cover entire cake with frosting. Garnish with walnuts as desired.

Carrot Cake

Recipe from Diana Rattray at about.com

Makes: 1 9″x13″ cake, 2 9″ round cakes, 28 standard cupcakes

2 cups finely shredded carrots
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 large eggs
1 1/2 cup oil
1 cup walnuts
1 cup shredded coconut
8 oz can crushed pineapple, well drained

Frosting:

6 oz cream cheese

1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk

2 tablespoons whipping cream

  • Preheat oven to 350 F
  • Grease two 9′ round pans with oil and flour or spray with Baker’s Joy.
  • In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients and shredded carrots.
  • Add eggs and oil and mix well.
  • Add pineapple and nuts and stir until combined.
  • Divide batter equally into pans and bake for 30 minutes or until tester comes out clean.
  • Let cool completely for at least an hour.
  • Beat frosting ingredients with electric mixer for few minutes until it reaches creamy consistency.
  • Invert cakes on wax paper or clean surface.
  • Place one layer on a cake stand. Cover face with frosting. Place other layer on top. Cover entire cake with frosting. Garnish with walnuts as desired.
  • Enjoy!

1

كيكة الجزر

كوبان جزر مبشور

كوبان دقيق أبيض

كوبان سكر

ملعقتي شاي قرفة مطحونة

ملعقة شاي ملح

نصف ملعقة شاي كربونات الصوديوم

ثلاث بيضات كبيرة

كوب و نصف زيت

كوب جوز مجروش

كوب جوز الهند مبشور

علبة أناناس مجروش مصفاة من الماء تماماً (حجم 8 آونس) ا

كريمة التزيين

ثلاثة أرباع علبة جبن كريمة

نصف علبة حليب مكثف و محلى

ما يقارب ملعقتين كريمة خفق و يمكن الإستغناء عنه

يسخن الفرن بحرارة 350

ندهن صينيتين دائريتين بالزيت و الدقيق أو نرشها ببخاخ الدقيق

نمزج المكونات الجافة في وعاء عميق ثم نضيف الجزر

نضيف الزيت و البيض و نمزج جيداً

نضيف الأناناس و المكسرات و نخلط جيداً

نقسم المزيج بين الصينيتن و نخبز القوالب في الفرن لمدة نصف ساعة أو حتى ينضج

بعد إخراجه من الفرن يترك حتى يبرد تماماً

نخفق جميع مقادير الكريمة بالخفاق الكهربائي لعدة دقائق حتى نحصل على كريمة متماسكة

عند التقديم، تقلب الكيكات على ورق زبدة أو سطح نظيف

نضع طبقة من الكيكة على قالب الكيك ثم نغطي وجهها بالكريمة

نضع الطبقة الأخرى فوقها ثم نغطي الكيكة كاملة بالكريمة

تزين بالجوز المبشور و تقدم بالهناء و العافية

5

8 thoughts on “Carrot Cake كيكة الجزر

  1. I remember the time you made it at one of our “holy” gatherings and how my mom raved about it 20 million times! I’m not a die hard cinnamon fan, so will skip that when I bake it (ahem). The frosting looks grand!

  2. CQ- once you taught me the cream cheese topping using cream cheese butter and sugar. Does this topping taste better than that one?

    • gillani- Thanks! This is the only frosting I use. I don’t use butter and sugar in my frosting. The butter-sugar frosting is stiffer, therefore, it holds shape better so you can pipe rosettes and swirls but it it’s very sweet and has a grainy/sugary texture. This one is smooth and balanced in sweetness but you can only spread it smooth.

  3. My! This is one of the most perfect recipes I have stumbled across! Thank you dear CQ. We made it when guests came over and everyone loved it. I have tried other recipes too but some how this one tops them all.

  4. Hey CQ, its me again. Just dropped by to check if the blog has been updated yet. Waiting anxiously for something new-something easy to make yet delicious to eat. Thanks!

  5. CQ- can u please post some recipes for sahoor and midnight snacks. something which is quick, easy and nutritious. Thanks

So, what do you think? أخبريني عن رأيكِ؟

